The NCBS Annual Meeting 2012-13

Wednesday, January 2nd, 2013

NCBS Annual Talks 2013


One of the most important events on NCBS's calendar, this year's Annual Meeting will be held from the 3rd to 5th January 2013. Over the three days, fourteen of NCBS's principal investigators will speak about their recent work, focusing on different aspects of "Control in Biological Systems" - the theme for this year's talks. All seminars will be held at Dasheri (the NCBS Auditorium) in the new Southern Laboratories complex within the NCBS campus. The event also involves afternoon poster sessions where NCBS's research scholars will throw light upon their recent projects at the institute. The poster sessions will be dispersed between talks on all days.

Each day will also see experts from across the world delivering keynote addresses on topics related to control and movement in the biological world. Keynote speakers include Pedro Carvalho from the Centre for Genomic Regulation (Spain), Joseph Fetcho from Cornell University (USA), Sanjeev Galande from the Indian Institute for Science Education and Research (Pune, India) and Nicolas Gompel of the Developmental Biology Institute of Marseille-Luminy (IBDML, France). Some of the NCBS speakers include Deepa Agashe, Upinder Bhalla, Mukund Thattai, Jayant Udgaonkar, Madhusudhan Venkadesan and many others whose work touch on aspects of movement and control in biological systems.

The introduction of themes for each Annual Meeting is a relatively new phenomenon that began with the success of the last Annual Meeting (2011-2012), which focused on neurogenetics. "We wish to create themes that force us to think about different questions in biology than those we focus on everyday in our laboratory," says Satyajit Mayor, the Dean of NCBS. "This may forge unexpected alliances in our research."

"Not all our faculty speak this year but with new themes for next year I am sure we will engage everyone," Mayor adds. This year's program has been put together by NCBS faculty Sandeep Krishna, Raghu Padinjat, Mahesh Sankaran and Vatsala Thirumalai.

For a detailed schedule and more information regarding the Annual Meeting, visit



Post new comment

The content of this field is kept private and will not be shown publicly.
This question is for testing whether you are a human visitor and to prevent automated spam submissions.
Enter the characters shown in the image.

Bookmark and Share